Congratulations 2019 GRIT Award Recipients!

(Event Photos at Bottom)

The Fort Smith Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB) is pleased to announce the 2019 GRIT Award recipients. The GRIT (Giving Recognition in Tourism) Awards were presented at Fort Smith Convention Center on Thursday, November 9, 2017, after receiving nominations from the public. The annual event serves to showcase the accomplishments of individuals and organizations that have gone above and beyond the call of duty to positively impact the area's growing tourism and hospitality industry. Without further ado, congratulations to the following 2019 GRIT Award Recipients:

Restaurant Partner of the Year

Neumeier's Rib Room and Papa's Pub & Pizzaria

Lodging Partner of the Year

Courtyard by Marriott Fort Smith Downtown

Attraction Partner of the Year

The Clayton House

Business Partner of the Year

Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority

Polly Crews Hospitality Person of the Year

Cody Faber—Fort Smith National Historic Site

New Horizons Award

Samuel M. Sicard Hall of Honor


During the event, Fort Smith CVB also honored the 2019 Hometown Hospitality Heroes—selected by Fort Smith CVB staff—who played a critical role in promoting the city as a travel destination and/or attracting convention business. The 2019 honorees include Bradley Martin, President of Fort Smith Trolley Museum; Tim Allen, President & CEO of Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce; the Fort Smith Department of Parks & Recreation; Heroes We Remember, In Memoriam to Bill Neumeier, Linda Seubold, Robert (Bob) Redo, and Brenda Payne. The 2019 Hometown Hospitality Heroes were featured in the November issue of Entertainment Fort Smith magazine and the Fort Smith CVB blog.